Balsamic Dressing

I came across this Cotterill & Rouse Balsamic Dressing a few months ago and fell in love with it right away. Once summer arrived, and my garden has been producing salads by the buckets, I realised my addiction to this salad dressing was getting a little costly – it’s not the cheapest dressing on the shelf by a LONG shot…

So I started cracking the recipe. And wallah, I think this recipe is at least equal to the bought stuff! Even my mum has since been asking me to make her this dressing by the jars.

This salad dressing is light and refreshing. It’s a little sweet with the balsamic tinge, backed by the aroma of garlic and onions. Cotterill & Rouse also uses basil in their dressing, which is very nice and subtle. I’ve also tried using thyme, and both mum and I think thyme makes the winning recipe for us. If you jar this dressing properly, it should keep for 1-2 months without any problem. (The oldest jar I just finished is 2 months old.)

You’ll need:

  • 1/4 cup finely chopped onions (chop as fine as you can)
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 300 ml balsamic vinegar
  • 600 ml water
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon of freshly chapped thyme or basil (1 teaspoon if dried)
  • glass jars with metal screw tops for your dressing

Follow these steps:

  1. Add a little oil to a heavy bottomed pot at least 1 litre in capacity.
  2. Add onions and garlic and fry until fragrant.
  3. Add sugar and let it caramelise (melts and bubbles).
  4. Add balsamic vinegar, water, salt, and your choice of herb.
  5. Taste to see if you want to adjust sugar/salt/water/vinegar.
  6. Bring to boil then simmer for 5 minutes.
  7. Also boil jars and lids in water in another large pot for at least a minute.
  8. Take the jars out with tongs and drain.
  9. Fill jars with dressing as full as you can and quickly screw on the tops. Careful not to burnt yourself! Oven mitts are helpful! Don’t worry if the last jar is not full – you’ll use this one first.
  10. Let the jars cool. (You’ll hear the tops “pop” indicating they are sealed).

You can start using this dressing as soon as it cools. However I think the flavour is even better if you let it mature in the jars for a few days. I hope you’ll enjoy this dressing as much as I do 🙂

3 thoughts on “Balsamic Dressing

  1. Pingback: My Lunch Mess | Imported Kiwi

  2. Pingback: Green Tomato and Capsicum “Chut-ckle” | Imported Kiwi

  3. With havin so much content ddo you ever run into aany problems of
    ppagorism orr copyright infringement? My wwbsite has a lott
    of unique content I’ve eeither creawted mysellf orr outsourced butt iit looks like a lot of iit is popping it up alll over the internet without myy agreement.
    Do yoou know any solutions too help reduce content from being stolen?
    I’d genuinely appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

