Lemon Yogurt Tart

I love ricotta cheese, but it’s not something I always have in my fridge. Yogurt, however, is something I always have. This recipe is a version of one I made many times with ricotta cheese, using ingredients I always have at home, and is ULTRA simple to make. The addition of ground almonds provides an imitation to the ricotta texture. The finished tart has a nice lemon flavour, a velvety smooth and creamy texture, with a hint of the almonds. Be sure you make enough for you and your guests, because it’s really hard to stop at just one slice!

For a 24 cm diameter tart (serves 8 generously), you’ll need:

  • enough short crust pastry to line your tart dish
  • 6 eggs
  • 500ml yogurt
  • 1-2 lemons’ zest and juice
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup ground almonds (I ground my own from whole almonds in my blender)

After lining your tart dish with pastry, simply blend or mix everything together well and pour into the dish. Bake at 160C for an hour or until the tart is set but still wobble slightly when the dish is lightly tilted.

2 thoughts on “Lemon Yogurt Tart

  1. Pingback: Big Bill Winter Feast | Imported Kiwi

  2. Pingback: Burning Away Autumn Gloom | Imported Kiwi

Leave a Reply

