Glorious Winters Day

Gorgeous isn’t it?!

The Inland Road from Christchurch to Kaikoura is often neglected but a real gem! We went to Mt Lyford (the right most mount in the above photo) for a day of snowboarding this past weekend. The photo below (and top banner of this article) was taken on the road to the ski field.

Mt Lyford ski field is small-ish but really really nice! (Big enough to keep you busy for one day definitely anyway.) And you can see the Pacific from the top (which is actually the summit of Mt Terako). If you haven’t been there, do check it out sometime! It’s a wonderful alternative particularly on a weekend when a north-west storm is raging west of the main divid.

I didn’t get to the top for the view that day as it was my first time trying out snowboarding. I will definitely go back though! I think I’m falling in love with snowboarding after years of not caring much for skiing. If you’ve always been doing one, I really recommend trying out the other just to see what it’s like! Now I can’t wait to get back to some white powder, thought spring is definitely on its way 🙂

5 thoughts on “Glorious Winters Day

  1. We usually take the Inland road if we are heading to the Picton ferry from Hanmer Springs so we’ve gotten to know the road rather well…Yes Mt Lyford is a gem… I never skied there because I was always went to either Mt Hutt or Porter Heights when I was a skier (before an skiing accident wrecked my knee… yes yet ANOTHER fall… you’d think I’d learn LOL)
    These days I usually only get to see the mountains in Summer so it’s great to have a winter view (without the cold too LOL) Beautiful photos! Thank you!!!

    • I haven’t been this way much at all actually but now I think I’ll travel to Waiau a bit more in winter coz I really like Mt Lyford ski field for its surrounding and its size – I never liked Hutt for it’s so busy!
      I’m glad you enjoyed the photos 🙂 Driving on a ski field road somehow gives me a feeling it’s a cheater’s way of getting on to high peaks 😉 I’m not complaining though 🙂

    • Oh, p.s don’t feel too bad about your leg… I hope it’s well on the way of being fully recovered! It’s easy to forget to take care of it when you are feeling fine – I injured my right wrist 3 times (counting only the serious-ish times)… Do look after it afterwards though… It’s so easy to end up with the same injury again…

Leave a Reply

