Tender Slow Cooked Lamb Masala

Recently I fell in love with a lamb curry from a curry place near me. The dish is called Lamb Handi. I tried looking for recipes online but didn’t find any that seem like what I had. So I tried cracking it and here it is.

It tastes very rich of ginger, tomatoes, and onions. The lamb should be cooked until VERY tender and is soooooo satisfying served piping hot over rice and some naan.

You need:

  • 2Kg of lamb – any cut will do – I used a shoulder this time
  • 1Kg of ripe or canned tomatoes
  • 5 onions
  • 200ml yogurt
  • 5cm piece of ginger
  • 1 bulb of garlic, peeled
  • 1 tablespoon coriander seeds
  • 3 tablespoons chopped fresh coriander leaves (orΒ 1 tablespoon dried)
  • 1 tablespoon cumin seeds
  • 2 tablespoons ground cumin
  • 1 tablespoon turmeric powder
  • 3 tablespoons gram masala
  • 2 teaspoons ground clove
  • 1 tablespoon chicken stock powder
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1-3 teaspoons chopped chilli depending on how hot you like it
  • 1-2 cups shredded coconut (optional)

Do the following:

  1. Put 2 onions, half the tomatoes, yogurt, and all the spices (except the coconuts) into a blender and blend into a paste.
  2. Slice the rest of the onions and chop the rest of the tomatoes.
  3. Put the lamb into a large pot and scatter the onions and tomatoes over.
  4. Pour the spice mixture over the lamb and turn to coat well.
  5. Cover the dish with a lid and cook the lamb by:
    1. simmering it on the stove for 2 hours, or
    2. put it in a slow cooker for 8 hours, or
    3. leaving it in a slow oven (130-150C) for 5 hours.
  6. Once the lamb is very tender and can be easily pick apart with a fork, stir in the coconuts if you are using them.

I cooked my shoulder of lamb in Big Bill my clay oven over night until the meat fell off the bone, and I could pick the bone out with my hand. Then I torn the meat apart and serve it absolutely smothered in the rich masala sauce. (Masala just means spice or a blend of spices.)

I didn’t put the coconut in when I first cook this because my mother in law doesn’t eat coconuts. The dish I had from the curry place did have heaps of shredded coconuts in theirs. I put in about a cup into our leftover for the second meal and I think the lamb tastes very good with or without the coconuts. Kiwi Bird actually said he prefers what I cooked when I asked him to compare it to some of the restaurant leftover – but then he might just be a little big biased πŸ˜‰

11 thoughts on “Tender Slow Cooked Lamb Masala

  1. Pingback: Celebrating Spring with a Fire, a Duck, and a Lamb | Imported Kiwi

  2. Pingback: Fix an Empty Freezer with a Fire | Imported Kiwi

  3. Pingback: A Quiet Little Pizza Night | Imported Kiwi

Leave a Reply

