Kneading and Shaping High Hydration Dough for Holey Bread

I finally put together a video to show how I knead and shape high hydration dough, essential in getting those big pretty holes in the bread! I’m a semi-newbie myself and I hope my approach can help some of you, especially the shaping part. I figured out this way of shaping and doing the final rise of the dough, which I find relatively easy and I haven’t seen other people do it this way.

I normally let my bread maker do the kneading for me, but it can be done by hands as I’m showing in the video. Like I said in the video, if you are just about to begin your quest to holey bread, try the no-knead method first and just concentration on getting a feel for the dough and the shaping process in the beginning.

Good luck, have fun, and happy baking! 🙂

Video is around 6 minutes long, with the first half on kneading, and second half on shaping. I hope you like it 🙂

Here are some articles you may also be interested in:

12 thoughts on “Kneading and Shaping High Hydration Dough for Holey Bread

  1. Pingback: Pizza Time, Fireworks, and Big Bill’s Birthday Presents | Imported Kiwi

  2. Pingback: My Holey Sourdough Bread Journey | Imported Kiwi

  3. Pingback: Light Rye and Sesame Sourdough Bread | Imported Kiwi

  4. Pingback: Airy Sourdough Focaccia | Imported Kiwi

  5. Pingback: Cocoa, Linseed and Sesame Bread | Imported Kiwi

  6. Pingback: Caramelised Onion and Cheese Sourdough Bread | Imported Kiwi

  7. Pingback: Sourdough Bread with big Holes and Translucent Crumb | The Nomad Polymath

  8. Hi. I left a comment under your video on YT but I wanted to say here as well that you are my hero 🙂 I started to believe in me again 🙂

Leave a Reply

