Orange and Fennel Brioche

OrangeFennelBrioche“Orange should marry fennel!” – that’s what I thought when I took my first bite into this. I created this bread 2 weeks ago, and already made it twice more since then. The aroma of this bread is just so wonderful, I think I probably spend as much time sniffing it as eating it.

You’ll need:

  • 3+1/2 cups of high grade (bread) flour (~525g)
  • 1 cup wholemeal flour (~150g) (or just use bread flour)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1+1/2 cups milk (or 1+1/2 cups water + 1/2 cup milk powder)
  • 1 tablespoon yeast (7g)
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 120g butter
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped fennel shoots
  • zest of one orange

Follow these steps:

  1. Combine everything and knead for 15-20 minutes until smooth and elastic.
  2. Let it rise for 1 hour or until doubled.
  3. Punch it down to degas then fold or roll up and shape into a loaf. (You can braid it if you want to be fancy.)
  4. Let it rise for another hour or until doubled.
  5. Bake at 190C for an hour or until the loaf sounds hollow when tapped on the bottom. If you want the bread to have a glazed look, remember to brush it with a little lightly beaten eggs before baking.

I have been making this bread in my bread maker. Just throw everything in and set it to go. This bread is really wonderful served with some lavender honey, or some good quality cured meat for a very satisfying meal.

5 thoughts on “Orange and Fennel Brioche

  1. Pingback: The World didn’t End, Let’s Party | Imported Kiwi

  2. I don;t think I’m going to get the kids to take to this, but for Himself and I… hmmm.

    Once I’m over this chest infection I’ll think about baking bread again (earlier efforts are always so variant in success but I need a new oven desperately so probably that’s at least part of the problem.)

  3. Pingback: Pizzas, Bread, and Ribs, Ribs, Ribs | Imported Kiwi

Leave a Reply

